Thrash Hits

September 24th, 2008

Album: Kerrang! The Album ’08

Gallows Thrash Hits Frank Carter Steph Carter Stuart Gili Ross Lee Barnard

Various Artists
Kerrang! The Album ’08
Rhino Records
29 September 2008

by Vincent Danger

Kerrang! has always followed the latest and the greatest rock music around. That’s why you should put your trust in their choice for a mixtape because, let’s not beat around the bush, that’s exactly what this is.

It doesn’t focus on any particular sub-genre so be prepared to be shredded, punked, stadium-rocked, chart-topped and emo’ed in equal measure. While there’s probably something for everyone, it’s doubtful that one person will enjoy every track.

kerrang! the album 08 artwork packshot album art thrash hits

Huge hitters from 2008 including Nickelback’s smash hit, ‘Rockstar’ and Kid Rock’s Lynyrd Skynyrd-aping ‘All Summer Long’ are featured as well as modern classics like ‘American Idiot’ from Green Day.

Where this compilation wins is when it features songs from up-and-comers like Slaves To Gravity, Fighting With Wire, Black Tide and You Me At Six.

Watch the trailer for Kerrang! The Album ’08 featuring Deputy Editor and self-proclaimed hunk, Dan Lane

They’re all big shouts for the future and this is exactly what Kerrang! does in the magazine week in, week out and it makes perfect sense for them to put it all down onto a perfectly well-rounded double-CD (or mp3).

As with any compilation, there’s a good chance that you’ve already got half the songs and you don’t care about the rest, but there’s always the chance of finding something new.


Kerrang! The Album ’08 tracklisting

CD 1

Kid Rock – All Summer Long
Nickelback – Rock Star
Weezer – Pork And Beans
Biffy Clyro – Saturday Superhouse
Good Charlotte – Keep Your Hands Off My Girl
Pendulum – Propane Nightmares
Slipknot – PsychoSocial
Enter Shikari – Sorry, You’re Not A Winner
Linkin Park – Given Up
Serj Tankian – Empty Walls
Airbourne – Runnin’ Wild
Black Tide – Warriors Of Time
Killswitch Engage – Holy Diver
Dillinger Escape Plan – Black Bubblegum
Scars On Broadway – They Say
Bullet For My Valentine – Waking The Demon
Slaves To Gravity – Mr Regulator
The Gaslight Anthem – The ’59 Sound
The Nightmarchers – I Wanna Deadbeat You
Coheed And Cambria – Feathers
30 Seconds To Mars – The Kill

CD 2

Green Day – American Idiot
My Chemical Romance – Welcome To The Black Parade
Fall Out Boy – This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race
Elliot Minor – Parallel Worlds
Simple Plan – When I’m Gone
Panic At The Disco – Nine In The Afternoon
Alkaline Trio – Love Love Kiss Kiss
The Blackout – Spread Legs, Not Lies
Funeral For A Friend – Waterfront Danceclub
Madina Lake – House Of Cards
You Me At Six – If I Were In Your Shoes
Billy Talent – Red Flag
Fighting With Wire – Everyone Needs A Nemesis
HIM – Wings Of A Butterly
Avenged Sevenfold – Afterlife
Machine Head – Aesthetics Of Hate
Atreyu – Falling Down
Kids In Glass Houses – Give Me What I Want
Kill Hannah – Lips Like Morphine
Cancer Bats – Hail Destroyer
Gallows – Orchestra Of Wolves

Kerrang! The Album ’08 is released on Rhino Records on 29 September 2008



Keep up with Thrash Hits. Click like and follow.