Thrash Hits

November 25th, 2008

Lynyrd Skynyrd announce 2009 UK tour

lynyrd skynyrd thrash hits band promo photo

Mighty American Southern rock band, Lynyrd Skynyrd have announced a brand spanking new UK tour for May 2009. These will be the band’s first shows for six years.

The band is currently writing the follow-up to 2003’s Vicious Cycle but With ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ and ‘Freebird’ already in their arsenal, Lynyrd Skynyrd have managed to flog 26 million records over the years.

As well as being paid homage to by Kid Rock in his #1 hit, ‘All Summer Long’, ‘Sweet Home Alabama’ has been downloaded as a ringtone over 1 million times. They’re so nu skool.

Lynyrd Skynyrd May 2009 UK tourdates
Glasgow Clyde Auditorium
28 Birmingham NIA Academy
30 Manchester Apollo
31 London Brixton Academy

Lynyrd Skynyrd lineup
Gary Rossington – guitar (original member)
Billy Powell – piano (original member)
Johnny Van Zant – lead singer
Rickey Medlocke – guitar
Ean Evans – bass
Michael Cartellone – drums
Sparky Matejka – guitar
Dale Krantz Rossington – Honkette
Carol Chase – Honkette

Tickets go on general sale from 9am Friday, 28 November 2008 from the Live Nation website.



Keep up with Thrash Hits. Click like and follow.