Thrash Hits

January 13th, 2009

2009 Album Preview: Anthrax – Worship Music

anthrax thrash hits

Worship Music
Sanctuary Records
ETA May 2009

What they’re saying
Scott Ian has said that Anthrax will “give birth to a really pissed off, loud, fast and heavy child” in May. They have recorded 19 tracks but Worship Music will be 13 tracks long. There will be some b-sides and some covers including ‘Brain Of J’ by Pearl Jam, ‘Big Eyes’ by Cheap Trick, ‘New Noise’ by Refused and ‘Running Down A Dream’ by Tom Petty. Anvil (‘Jackhammer’) and Alice Cooper (‘We Die Young’) covers have also been discussed.

In November, drummer Charlie Benante said the following:

“The new tunes are very strong. We have some old school thrash and some stuff that is like WCFYA meets SOWN. This record is not forced – it is a very organic and honest representation of where we are as a band and as writers. I hear many things nowadays that sound forced, I ain’t digging that. There is a 6-minute tune called ‘Down Goes The Sun’, I believe it is one of my favorite songs. The music itself is epic, it sends chills up my spine.”

Thrash Hits verdict
It’s the thrash legends’ first album with their brand new Anselmo-esque singer, Dan Nelson and he’s sounding like quite a strong choice. He hasn’t got the vocal range of Joey Belladonna but then, who has? Make no bones about it, having been five years since the release of We’ve Come For You All, this is going to be one of the major comebacks of 2009.

Anthrax – Worship Music rumoured tracklisting
Down Goes The Sun
Earth On Hell
Face With No Name
The Devil You Know
Brain Of J (Pearl Jam)
Big Eyes (Cheap Trick)
New Noise (Refused)
Running Down A Dream (Tom Petty)
Jackhammer (Anvil)
We Die Young (Alice Cooper)