Thrash Hits

March 19th, 2012

Europe, Emmure, and Turbonegro among 12 new band announced for Download Festival 2012

europe band promo photo thrash hits 2009

Download Festival have announced another 12 names for their 2012 line-up, with the heavy-hitters in today’s admittedly pretty mixed-bag of announcements being Europe, Emmure, and Turbonegro.

In addition to them, also joining the bill at Donington Park this June will be Firewind, Theory Of A Deadman, Halestorm, Anti-Nowhere League, Turbowolf, The Safety Fire, Mallory Knox, Stellar Revival, and Broken. While it might not have the numbers of their previous, 22-band mammoth announcement, Download continues to produce line-up announcements that are 25% “Yes! Great Band!”, 25% “hmm, okay we suppose”, 25% “what a load of bollocks!”, and 25% “who?”

Download Festival 19 March 2012 poster Thrash Hits

BONUS POINTS: By our reckoning, there’s at least two mistakes in band names on the current Download Festival line-up poster (i.e., the one up above). First person to spot them both and name them in the comments below wins a “special prize” (i.e., whatever junk we can find lying about Thrash Hits Towers).

Tickets for Download Festival 2012 are on sale now from the festival’s official website, and start at £155 for the most bare-bones packages (although that doesn’t include those pesky fees). If you’re thinking of going, it might be better to buy sooner rather than later – family camping packages and pretty much all the VIP options for the festival have already sold out. As always, Download Festival takes place at Donington Park, this year from June 8-10.


Keep up with Thrash Hits. Click like and follow.