Thrash Hits

October 3rd, 2012

Deftones release another new song – this time it’s ‘Tempest’

Deftones 2011 promo photo Thrash Hits

Those Sacramento not-quite-nu-metal-but-they’re-kinda-stuck-with-that-tag-now metallers, Deftones, have released yet another track from their forthcoming seventh studio album, Koi No Yokan. This time it’s a track by the name of ‘Tempest’, and as it happens, this one is the first “official single” to be taken from the album.

We guess this means it’ll have a full-on, proper promo video made for it at some point, but for the time being, here’s the music. That’s the important bit, after all.

While perhaps not quite as immediately gripping as ‘Leathers’, this new song still has us feeling extremely positive about the new Deftones album – not that we weren’t already. It’s still got that fearsome sense of dynamism that Deftones have managed to thread through all of their albums since White Pony, and while the evidence presented by both ‘Tempest’ and ‘Leathers’ suggests an album that’s more a continuation of the mood set by Diamond Eyes than the “radical departure” that Chino Moreno and co. were talking up at one point, given how much we loved Diamond Eyes, we can’t say we’ll be disappointed if this proves to be the case.

Deftones Tempest artwork packshot 400px Thrash Hits

‘Tempest’ is released digitally on 08 October 2012, on which date you’ll be able to buy it off iTunes or whatever your digital music vendor of choice happens to be. The full album, Koi No Yokan, is due for release via Reprise/Warner Brothers Records on November 13. And we can’t bloody wait.

Deftones – Koi No Yokan tracklisting:
Romantic Dreams
Swerve City
Graphic Nature
Goon Squad
What Happened To You?



Keep up with Thrash Hits. Click like and follow.