Thrash Hits

Cut Yourself In Half

Cut Yourself In Half image provided by Biography from

Bradford's Cut Yourself In Half were formed a little over a year ago from the ashes of 3 bands including the semi- legendary noise rockers Jon Jones Beatnik Movement.
A couple of tracks found their way into the hands of New Heavy Sounds and boy were we blown away.
Made up of George Quinn on vocals and guitar, Mikey Feather - guitar, Jonny Newell - drums, and Stefan Wilton on bass, these guys have mutated into one hell of a kick-ass riff machine. Read more on

Cut Yourself In Half on Thrash Hits

If You Buy One Thing This Week: New Heavy Sounds Vol.3

April 15th, 2014

New Heavy Sounds logo Thrash Hits

Record Store Day is once again looming – this weekend, music collector nerds of all shapes and sizes will descend upon their local record shops to buy over-priced and often not-very-good limited edition releases to mark the occasion. However, some of the stuff being put out for Record Store Day is bloody brilliant, and the New Heavy Sounds Vol.3 compilation – featuring a load of killer new tracks from a whole load of their bands – is one of those, hence why it’s our pick for If You Buy One Thing This Week.

[

Label Profile 004: New Heavy Sounds

April 15th, 2013

New Heavy Sounds logo Thrash Hits

New Heavy Sounds is a label we’ve been meaning to feature as part of our label profile for some time now. Quite literally three-quarters of the label’s roster have appeared in our Future Hits column at some point – that, ladies and gentlemen, is a very impressive hit-rate. We caught up with one half of the label’s co-flunders, Ged Murphy, to discuss the ins and outs of being a label specialising in new, up-and-coming British bands.

[