Thrash Hits


Fightstar to release Alternate Endings

July 10th, 2008

Fightstar Charlie Simpson Omar Abidi Al Westaway Dan Haigh Thrash Hits

On 11 August 2008, Fightstar will release a collection of b-sides and live session recordings from the past three years entitled Alternate Endings.

Containing 15 tracks, including ‘Floods’ from a Radio 1 session and an acoustic cover of Deftones ‘Minerva’, and an enhanced section which contains the video for ‘I Am A Message’ as well as a video of the band answering fans’ questions, it should be a good purchase for any completist Fightstar fan.

Thrash Hits .com has heard it, and we reckon it’s ace.

Fightstar Charlie Simpson Omar Abidi Al Westaway Dan Haigh Thrash Hits Alternate Endings

Fightstar – Alternate Endings tracklisting

1. Floods (acoustic) (Colin Murray Radio 1 Session)
2. Where’s The Money Lebowski
3. Waitin’ For A Superman – live version (Colin Murray Radio 1 Session)
4. Amethyst
5. 99 (acoustic) (Colin Murray Radio 1 Session)
6. In Between Days
7. Shinji Ikari
8. Dark Star
9. Gracious
10. Fight For Us
11. Hold Out Your Arms
12. Nerv/Seele
13. Zihuatanejo
14. Breaking The Law
15. Minerva (acoustic)

+ I Am The message” video
+ Behind The Scenes of the Floods video shoot
+ Waitin’ For A Superman – filmed at Maida Vale Studios
+ Backstage fun filmed at Download Festival 2008
+ Video of the band answering fans’ questions


EXCLUSIVE: Thrash Hits hears new Biffy Clyro material

June 4th, 2008

Biffy Clyro in the park

Biffy Clyro invited Thrash Hits .com down to their record label offices this afternoon to have an early listen to some brand new, just-recorded songs.

Simon Neil and co have been recording some demos and while they have rough versions of about ten tracks, there is only one song which is completely finished and it’s called ‘Mountains’.

It is 3min 19sec of slightly angular, stadium-filling riff rock with a killer refrain of, “I am the mountain / I am the sea/ You can’t take that away from me.” It will stick in your head after the very first listen – I guarantee it. Expect a hell of a lot of distortion and a more positive outlook for their forthcoming fifth album, touted for release in 2009.

Listen to ‘Mountains’ by Biffy Clyro
‘Mountains’ will be released as a single on Monday, 25 August 2008 after Reading & Leeds Festival and you can pre-order it at Amazon. ‘Paperfriend’ is a possible B-side – a song which was fully recorded during the Puzzle sessions but was left off the final cut.

Watch this clip of ‘Mountains’ being debuted at Electric Weekend Festival in Getafe, Spain on 30 May 2008. It’s really crappy quality both in terms of sound and vision so don’t expect too much from this but rest assured ‘Mountains’ sounds amazing.

Since the release of Puzzle in May 2007, the Scottish trio have toured incessantly with the likes of Queens of the Stone Age, Bloc Party, Oceansize and Linkin Park and have played festivals around the world.

Biffy Clyro will be performing at Download, Glastonbury, T in the Park and Reading & Leeds festivals this summer.

Look out for an interview with Biffy Clyro on Thrash Hits .com, where they talk about the new album as well as coming to the end of the Puzzle campaign, very, very soon.

Keep up with Thrash Hits. Click like and follow.